Please or Register to create posts and topics.

The Hooded Datestamps of Southern Africa 1888 - 1903

PreviousPage 4 of 7Next

Cape Hooded Circular date-stamps and ZAR Truncated Double Circle (TDC) date-stamps.

There are interesting similarities between Type 2 Cape Hooded date-stamps and ZAR truncated double circle (TDC) date-stamps, probably because they were made by the same British manufacturer; and interesting differences in their use; these are discussed in the attached file.  Comment would be very welcome.

Uploaded files:
Steve has reacted to this post.
Steve

I was looking at some covers yesterday and came to the same conclusion, that the TDC is closer to the hooded rather than the Dated Town Oval, actually a bad impression as per the second image below makes this very clear. All these "experimental" datestamps, appear to have been patented by Berri. When I was a student in London, as part of my final project I had to get copies of some old patents. I think at that time it was housed in the British Library, if someone is in London it would be worth spending a few hours and digging the patent(s) out. It was an impressive place with huge binded volumes of patents. I always speculated that one of the reasons of all these different experimental stamps was that they were patentable (due to non conforming shapes). Both the TDC and the hooded provide space to write a longer town name than what a smaller circular would do. The two bars in a way emulate the BONCs. The time codes in the Cape were first introduced in 1864 and these codes have been interpreted both for the single letters as well as for the double letters, although I am sure down the line we might get some surprises with the double letter ones, which I think were introduced to more accurately assess the time for late fees and maybe even for telegraphs (speculating). Codes were also used to denote ships for the Ocean Posts. 

Uploaded files:
  • cape-time-codes.JPG
  • tdc.JPG