Please or Register to create posts and topics.

OCEAN POST OFFICES / CHARITY LABELS

A new club member, David Sigee, has asked me to post the fascinating cover below. What a beauty!

One of David's collecting interests is 'Prince of Wales Charity Labels'. He has just acquired the cover shown below. His main reason for buying it, he says, "was that it is the only example that I have seen with both labels pre-paying postage". David is hoping that a Club Member will be able to tell him more about:

- The CAPE COLONY/OCEAN POST OFFICE  postmark
- The Merchant shipping, particularly R.M.S. 'Norman' at Southampton
- Whether the name 'Vallance' has any SA significance
- Any general comments that you have

Uploaded files:
  • Prince-of-Wales-Charity-Label.jpg
Johan64 has reacted to this post.
Johan64

I am no expert on Maritime Mail but here goes....

The Ocean Post Office (OPO) datestamp was used on ships to and from SA and GB. Six OPO datestamps are shown in Putzel's 'The Postmarks of South Africa....'. Alex Visser lists no additional OPOs in his on-line Addendum.

The datestamp above was used on 'JU 22 97'. It is Putzel No. 1, first used 18/10/93 on the first sailing of 7/10/1893.

Each OPO datestamp has a code letter that identifies the ship. 'A' is for Scot (Union Line), 'B' is for Dunottar Castle (Castle Line), etc. etc.  The code letter in the datestamp above is 'L' which identifies the ship as either the Spartan or the Norman, both Union Line mailships that sailed between Southampton and Cape Town. See RMS Norman, below.

The postage rates which applied at the time were 2½d per half ounce for letters and 1½d for postcards. The above should have been posted at the 2½d rate but instead appears to have passed through the postal system without additional postage. I do not believe that these stamps were accepted in lieu of postage. Coming out of an OPO mailbag they possibly confused the post office into accepting them - assuming that this cover was ever posted!